Big Block Dart Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What kind of metal prepping do i need to do before welding in my trunk floors and extensions  and I plan on using the no weld epoxy on the quarters with a few spot welds? o----o<>

G

·
i'm no welding expert,and their are a few here but if you grind down to bare metal you have to prep it with zinc oxide to protect it.a product i use is "metal ready"from por 15.it's like 15 bucks for enough to do several jobs.

·
Registered
847 Posts
i like to clean, scratch, and epoxy prime all my pieces first. i use weld-thru primer on the areas to be welded.

[attachment deleted by admin]

·
Registered
593 Posts
eldubb440 said:
i like to clean, scratch, and epoxy prime all my pieces first. i use weld-thru primer on the areas to be welded.
Can I ask? Why would you prime it first? Isn't it just wasted paint cause you'll have to redo it after your welding? Or does it protect the metal better? Just curious, I wanted to ask the first time you posted this pic, but I was afraid.... :)

·
Registered
847 Posts
good question pink.......my parts arrived bare metal, it may be weeks before i prime after welding. also, there are areas that wont be accessable after they are put together; such as the lower parts of trunk extesions, ect . i wont have to reprime the whole thing, just the welds after they are grinded. 8) ...... this is what i say to rust fullmoon

·
Registered
593 Posts
Makes sence.... doh

·
Registered
847 Posts
in this particular case.....i drilled holes thru the epoxied piece, and welded to the frame rail which was primed with weld-thru primer. no biggie........the epoxy burns away near the weld anyway.

·
Registered
7 Posts
ELDUBB440 IS RIGHT. EPOXY PRIME ALL THE PARTS BEFORE INSALLATION. THIS WAY YOU COVER AREAS THAT MIGHT NOT BE ACCESABLE ONCE THEY ARE INSTALLED. IF THEY WOULD HAVE DONE THIS WHEN THESE CARS WERE NEW,WE WOLDNT BE PUTTING IN FLOORS NOW!

·
Registered
365 Posts