Big Block Dart Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i run an a body big block car w/cal tracks 50/50 shocks and six cyl. stack spring. the back of the car hops on the hit. it shows in the 60' time. does anyone have this prob? i know about the mono springs. just trying to save a buck. is that my problem? ty

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
I'm no expert, I'm still on a learning curve with my Caltracs, but I think you should invest in some adjustable shocks first, and make sure they are long enough at full extension. I bought Ranchos, and I noticed a big improvement on my car by tightening them up.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm no expert, I'm still on a learning curve with my Caltracs, but I think you should invest in some adjustable shocks first, and make sure they are long enough at full extension. I bought Ranchos, and I noticed a big improvement on my car by tightening them up.
are you using a stacked spring or a mono?

·
Super Moderator
1,434 Posts
I have to agree with Q. it sounds like your shocks aren't controlling the rebound pulse from the initial launch

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
I'm still using stock type springs. I have been playing with different sets I have, and will be trying a different set this year. I still have traction issues I am trying to sort out, but no bounce or porpoising. I am using Nitto drag radials and figure that my be the problem.

·
Super Moderator
1,434 Posts
what size? I have them too and have been playing a lot with tire pressure but haven't found a good sweet spot yet.

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
275/60-15 I have played with tire pressure as well. I tried lowering them to as low as 16, but still had traction problems. One close up shot actually showed that they were wrinkling like a slick at that pressure. I think I will try raising them to 20 or more next year.

·
Super Moderator
1,434 Posts