Big Block Dart Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought another set of heavy duty swivel casters from Harbour Freight. The same ones I used the front end of my Dart. The front ones bolted right up to the bumper nuts in the frame and are very stable. (As pictured) The problem I'm having now is figuring out how to do the rear ones. Would it weaken the frame if i drilled it and attached something like I have drawn made up? (I'm not an engineer or a fabricator as you can probably tell.) :)

[attachment deleted by admin]

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Grancoupe said:
What about mounting to the bumper mounts?
The rear bumper mounts are quite different that the front ones. The rear has a bolt and nut that attaches to a much thinner gauge "box"; rather than mounting right to the frame itself. I'm afraid if i attach it there; it will bend the panel that is up under the roll pan.
I also want to keep it as clear as i can to remove the diff and leaf springs; and move the hangers inboard for tubbing.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Heres the front caster. we stripped a S6 K and opened up the holes to fit early and Late A's. 8" HD caster. back is still on the 7.25 axle. No rear caster...jet.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Here's a thought.  Weld a short piece of 1/2" rebar to the top of two 1/2" bolts.  Make the rebar long enough so that the bolts won't spin on the inside of the rear frame rails.  Go with your initial design, but just use two bolts on the bottom of your channel.  Drill them to match the spacing of those two factory holes just to the left of the shackle mount, (in the pic below). Insert your two fabricated T-bolts in the holes, place your casters astride the frame rail with the bolts through the channel, and install the nuts.  Should be plenty stable, a slong as the "down-legs" aren't three feet long.
(Ahhh, shoot! The pic didn't transfer over.)

Roger

rear frame bumper mounts.jpg (48.35 KB, 384x406 - viewed 9 times.)

« 

·
Registered