Big Block Dart Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks.

I'm located in Westchester County NY  ( about 16 miles north of Manhattan)

Back in the late 60's early 70's, I could go to any of 6 or so speedshops within a 5 mile radius of my home to have any work you could imagine done to my cars.

Now  even the gas stations have changed their bays into Milk Marts!!!!!!

I love my new GTS 440, but I am no mechanic and the work I need to have done cannot be done by me  or some guy who forgot how to change the points in a distributor.

Are there any of you in my area that can recommend a good shop

Here's what I want to do:

1. Front disc brake conversion with the SSBC kit, keeping the 5 x 4 bolt circle.  I have a set of steel rims from a disc brake car coming in from Stephens Performance.  I havent purchased the SSBC kit yet, and I won't until I can find someone who knows MOPARS to install it.    (I want to keep my W18 Mag hubcaps and redlines and have no real deisre to change to other wheels.)  I want to keep as much originality as I can with the wheels, although this is  a cruiser and local-show-only car.  I am slo not averse to simply buying yje Kelsey Hayes calipers rotors and whatever else is needed and using that "OEM" setup but I still need a MOPAR mechanic to do it.

2.  Replace my steering box with a power steering unit from Steer &Gear  (probably)  The steering on my 440GTS is worse than a dump truck  I'm afraid I'll get a heart atttack trying to make the lock to lock trip.

3.  Fix the horn so it doesn't beep when making a right turn.

4.  Install a vinatge SUN tach and EB9 transimiiter that I am having recalibrated and converted to electronic transmission by Williamson. ( so it will no longer need those impossible to find batteries.)

5.  Replace my AM radio with wheel dials- I got a 69 dart replacement unit on EBAY  (near NOS)