Big Block Dart Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this is my first attempt at a big block a body, so i thought i would consult the expers. I'm putting a 493/727 in a 68 dart with schumacher engine mounts (original /6). put the engine/trans in friday without much hassle. yesterday i poked around a bit putting in the 2" TTI headers. I had the transmission cross member bolted up and was using the hoist to raise the passenger side of the engine, but there was not enough space to get the header though the top. I suspect i need to undo the transmission mount to allow the engine to lift alittle bit more. anything else? from the top or the bottom? does the steering bar that passes under the oil pan need to come off?

i'm sure many on this board have done this - if someone could share their recipe that would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
311 Posts
the ones i've seen install from the bottom, its a real pain if you dont have a lift. I'm not sure about having to remove the center link or not, maybe someone else will chime in.

·
Registered
47 Posts
solidlifter,

If they are 2" TTI's then it is exactly as Ciscodog says...pull motor, lay the headers in there as close to position and... as much out of the way as possible and tie them in place ( I used zip strps) then as you lower motor in, work the headers into place...also I did not have spark plugs installed and I used header bolts NO studs.
hope this helps.

68Valiant

·
Registered
274 Posts
I put my motor (440RB), tranny and headers in my 69 from the top in 1 piece. I used an engine tilter and have a 10 foot ceiling in my garage. You can't have any pulleys on the balancer and you need the torsion bars out. It just fits. I thought it was the best way, you can get the starter in and wired. I used studs and copper gaskets on the headers. If it has to come out, I will take the same route. You need 2 people and some old throw rugs. Good luck.

[attachment deleted by admin]

·