Big Block Dart Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm confused. I am a retired radio station engineer and navy electronics technician, and have a pretty good grasp of how most automotive
electronics components work. However, I cannot find a satisfactory answer to a question about my alternator and voltage regulator.
The car is My 64ragtop Dart GT, with a '74 (I think) 318. It was originally a slant six car, but the previous owner had it upgraded.
It has the later isolated field alternator, with one feild terminal grounded to use the older wiring harness. The voltage regulator is an
old style two terminal one, but a solid-state replacement, not the original equipment electromechanical one.

Ma MOPAR changed the alternator and regulator to the isolated field and flat pack components for a reason! The component changes
don't seem like cost cutting moves, so I'm thinking that they must have intended some increased performance with the changes. Losing the
point-type electromechanical regulator is one thing, and that was accomplished by the P.O. of my car with the replacement solid state
regulator.

I've seen articles on "upgrading" the charging system which show the isolated field (sometimes called "dual field") alternator and the "flat pack"
regulator, along with the wire connector that some of the articles say are hard to find (but are available from Bouchillon Performance).
All of that said, my question is this:

What benefit would I gain from the addition of the flat pack regulator??? It's a simple change, done by un-grounding the presently grounded
alternator field and adding one wire and the connector and regulator, but what's the benefit over what I have?

·
Registered
1,941 Posts